PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a Cobra with Stiegemiere Port near Apple Valley....

Epic
04-21-2010, 11:52 AM
Hey Gang,

As you all may know I installed my Stiege ported blower last Friday. It has been chirping at idle with a squeal at speed since the day I installed it. I wasn't too concerned at the time due the forums I've read, etc. But after 200+ miles the noise is still there (maybe worse) so I talked to Bob at Stiege and it seems like this may not be normal and suggested that I send the unit back to him.

So, before I go through the pain of removnig the blower once again, I would like to compare the sounds to someone elses ported blower. Or have others listen and give me thier opinion. I have no prior experience with the ported blowers, so I don't know what to expect.

I will try to capture the noise on Video tonight when I get home and post it here.

So if anything is close to the Apple Valley area and has experiance with these blowers I would appreaticate some feedback tonight.

Epic

BlownSVT
04-21-2010, 11:54 AM
where is the sound coming from? can you isolate it to one area? snout or belt or ...... My ported blower sounded no different than the original stock one.

Epic
04-21-2010, 12:07 PM
where is the sound coming from? can you isolate it to one area? snout or belt or ...... My ported blower sounded no different than the original stock one.

Opps... It's bad then :errr:

This is a Night/Day difference in sound compared to Original.

Stiege is swamped with jobs right now and didn't bench test all of the blowers before shipping them out. He is very nice about it through and he coverers all the shipping expense, etc. to send it back.

I just gave John Z. a call at AV FORD and I will drop by the dealership to see what he thinks.

P.S. I thought at first it sound like a binding bearing but closer examination seems to point at something in the casing/lobes.

HELLFYR
04-21-2010, 01:58 PM
I think you may be experiencing the "SnakeBite" gear whine.